Any books similar to their games?

Any books similar to their games?

Homeless People Are Sexy Shirt $21.68

Black Rifle Cuck Company, Conservative Humor Shirt $21.68

Homeless People Are Sexy Shirt $21.68

  1. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Berserk if you read manga. Faust.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Already read Berserk. I'll check out Faust. What's the best translation?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >What's the best translation?
        Read the original, pleb.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        The German one.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Marlowe’s

  2. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    people tend to say book of the new sun but they were inspired by berserk and asoiaf/fevre dream

  3. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    start with the greeks

  4. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I came across this in Johnson's Life of Milton and, simpleton as I am, it reminded me of Dark Souls:
    >There prevailed in his time an opinion that the world was in its decay, and that we have had the misfortune to be produced in the decrepitude of Nature. It was suspected that the whole creation languished, that neither trees nor animals had the height or bulk of their predecessors, and that every thing was daily sinking by gradual diminution. Milton appears to suspect that souls partake of the general degeneracy, and is not without some fear that his book is to be written in “an age too late" for heroick poesy.

  5. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Lovecraft

  6. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Book of the New Sun, unironically

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      This.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        It instantly fails on the very first requirement of a solitary character, he is always with other people.
        Also it lacks the violence and darkness.
        Maybe if you mixed blood meridian with moby dick, with lord of the rings, with Ulysses you might start getting somewhere.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          yea but have people with the solitary character at firelink shrine. sword of the lictor is probably the most souls like as far as action and violence goes and it goes without saying that the story is about bringing back a new light and renewing the cycle.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I've had this on my to-read list for a while. Guess I'll pick it up after I finish the book I'm currently reading.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Book of the New Shit isn't souls-like at all, it reads like a fricking anime novel

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        how can you say something so irrefutably correct, only to then follow it with something to patently false that it should have hurt your hands to type it

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          You can only understand Gene Wolfe if you're over 30 and recovering from severe misanthropy. Nobody else can actually read it, they try to read it but forget everything as soon as it happens and replace it with an awful version where Severian isn't the most hilarious narrator of all time.

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            I'm under 30 and had no problems. Stop projecting because you got filtered. It's fine, you don't have to like every book.

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            I was 24 when I read it and had always felt inspired by my fellow human when I read it. And i loved it. I'm 30 now and am tired of humanity (though think this shit show is not the fault the many, just the few), and desperately feel an urge to read it again.

            Whoever reads this comment should just give it a go. If you are keen to be taken for a frickin ride and potentially encounter your favorite piece of fiction of all time, this is the book for you.
            You might not necessarily be dumb if you're filtered, but you're quite likely not very open minded or not especially curious. Some of the passages in this are unpleasant and you have to be willing. But whatever you do, don't judge it until you finish the entire thing. It only makes sense holistically

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Please stop saying this. It's nothing like Dark Souls

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Folio
      It has that moronic intro by Neil Gayman, right?

  7. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    No one, this meme game has no story
    >But but the lord
    Yeah man, whatever you say. Never forget when all soulgays were claiming that Solaire was the son of Gwyn

  8. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous
  9. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Absolutely nothing close at all.

    Blood Meridian if you want something extremely dark and violent, with alot of focus on the aesthetics of locations and with all the mainstream stuff that most novels have removed.
    Still its about cowboys so a really different setting. Also its not very mysterious or philosophical.
    And finally, I dont think any book could have just one main character and almost no other characters outside of just glimpses here and there like dark souls does.

    I have been looking for years, I think its just too far from what anybody would write a book about, thats what makes dark souls interesting, its a whole different way of story telling not done before.

  10. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Michael Kohlhaas probably

  11. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I haven't played them but from what I picked up, the Zothique cycle by Clark Ashton Smith might be similar.
    Are the games worth it story-wise?

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >Are the games worth it story-wise?
      I doubt.
      We should ban videogames from this board. Where are the mods?

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      its a whole different form of storytelling that works for the game.
      It just tells you a few random sentances, then you have to figure it all out from stuff around the world as to what is going on.
      It keeps it all really mysterious and open to different interpretations.
      Also you are a lone solitary character with nobody else, you will very rarely have a few sentances of dialogue with a person at a checkpoint but its not like a person who cares about you.

      The whole vibe is isolation in a dark world trying to figure out what is going on. Its also very philosophical and deep so very hard work to figure out.

      It is nothing like any book ever written. Most books just hand you everything, this is the oppsite it gives you nothing but a few mysterious sentances. Then you have to fo figure it out from random bits of info scattered around and its really hard to figure out and it wont help you at all or explain any of it.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        80IQ

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >The whole vibe is isolation in a dark world trying to figure out what is going on
        No, you're supposed to tap B in rhythm and have fun doing so with a variety of toons. Then you read a good book for 4 hours instead of watching VaatiFricks latest video.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >Its also very philosophical and deep so very hard work to figure out.
        >it gives you nothing but a few mysterious sentances. Then you have to fo figure it out from random bits of info scattered around and its really hard to figure out and it wont help you at all or explain any of it.
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apophenia

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Yes I have this condition, so what.
          This is exactly the reason dark souls is different to other forms of story telling, you need this condition to have any hope of understanding it.

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            You should get into astrology and bone reading

          • 3 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            I would if I had a good telescope, people studying the sky in ancient times and making predictions off meteors comments and other shit is pretty cool.
            Sadly that whole thing got hijacked into making shitty personality tests for women. But it was way more based before that.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        From what youtuber did you get this opinion?

        >Its also very philosophical and deep so very hard work to figure out
        You are either trolling or genuinely have subhuman IQ.

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >sentances

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Only game with a good story is Deus Ex.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      The storytelling in From Software games is done through fan channels on Youtube that sift through myriad miscellaneous and seemingly disparate item descriptions and props/environmental set pieces to produce 30 minute lore videos that players leave on as background audio while they play the actual games

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        So I guess its like warhammer 40k then.

        • 3 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          sure but in 40k there are at least a few books. Dark souls is impenetrable without autism or relying on an autistic Sherpa

  12. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Elden Ring was a collaboration between a certain fat troll, so there's always ASOIAF

  13. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous
  14. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >IQfy — Video Games & Anime

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      OP is asking some books, don't be a pedant homosexual.

  15. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous
  16. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Elric?

  17. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >zanzibart...forgive me like books
    if you want forgiveness, grab religion books.

  18. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Any satanism will have the same result.

  19. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The entire "Dying Earth" genre

  20. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Literally Beowulf, he even fights naked

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Underrated

  21. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >But full of fire and greedy hardiment,
    >The youthfull knight could not for ought be staide,
    >But forth unto the darksome hole he went,
    >And looked in: his glistring armor made
    >A litle glooming light, much like a shade,
    >By which he saw the ugly monster plaine,
    >Halfe like a serpent horribly displaide,
    >But th'other halfe did womans shape retaine,
    >Most lothsom, filthie, foule, and full of vile disdaine.

    >And as she lay upon the durtie ground,
    >Her huge long taile her den all overspred,
    >Yet was in knots and many boughtes upwound,
    >Pointed with mortall sting. Of her there bred
    >A thousand yong ones, which she dayly fed,
    >Sucking upon her poisnous dugs, eachone
    >Of sundry shapes, yet all ill favored:
    >Soone as that uncouth light upon them shone,
    >Into her mouth they crept, and suddain all were gone.

    >Their dam upstart, out of her den effraide,
    >And rushed forth, hurling her hideous taile
    >About her cursed head, whose folds displaid
    >Were stretcht now forth at length without entraile.
    >She lookt about, and seeing one in mayle
    >Armed to point, sought backe to turne againe;
    >For light she hated as the deadly bale,
    >Ay wont in desert darknesse to remaine,
    >Where plain none might her see, nor she see any plaine.

    >Which when the valiant Elfe perceiv'd, he lept
    >As Lyon fierce upon the flying pray,
    >And with his trenchand blade her boldly kept
    >From turning backe, and forced her to stay:
    >Therewith enrag'd she loudly gan to bray,
    >And turning fierce, her speckled taile advaunst,
    >Threatning her angry sting, him to dismay:
    >Who nought aghast his mightie hand enhaunst:
    >The stroke down from her head unto her shoulder glaunst.

    >Much daunted with that dint, her sence was dazd,
    >Yet kindling rage, her selfe she gathered round,
    >And all attonce her beastly body raizd
    >With doubled forces high above the ground:
    >Tho wrapping up her wrethed sterne arownd,
    >Lept fierce upon his shield, and her huge traine
    >All suddenly about his body wound,
    >That hand or foot to stirre he strove in vaine:
    >God helpe the man so wrapt in Errours endlesse traine.

    >His Lady sad to see his sore constraint,
    >Cride out, Now now Sir knight, shew what ye bee,
    >Add faith unto your force, and be not faint:
    >Strangle her, else she sure will strangle thee.
    >That when he heard, in great perplexitie,
    >His gall did grate for griefe and high disdaine,
    >And knitting all his force got one hand free,
    >Wherewith he grypt her gorge with so great paine,
    >That soone to loose her wicked bands did her constraine.

    >Therewith she spewd out of her filthy maw
    >A floud of poyson horrible and blacke,
    >Full of great lumpes of flesh and gobbets raw,
    >Which stunck so vildly, that it forst him slacke
    >His grasping hold, and from her turne him backe:
    >Her vomit full of bookes and papers was,
    >With loathly frogs and toades, which eyes did lacke,
    >And creeping sought way in the weedy gras:
    >Her filthy parbreake all the place defiled has.

  22. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Armored Core 6 is clearly inspired by Dune.

  23. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    We have this thread every other day...

    Anyway. As generic, formulaic, and conventional From Software games have become. They do use the mediums unique qualities, so you're never going to find something that similar. Just like how film adaptions, no matter how good, just aren't the same as the book.

    The closest books have been mentioned already.

  24. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Its also very philosophical and deep so very hard work to figure out.

  25. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Never read GRRM. Are any of his books similar to Elden Ring in terms of setting/lore?

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      The only similarities are the incessant name-dropping and people dying like dogs.

  26. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    spooky

  27. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    only bad ones

  28. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The Dying Earth series maybe? It's so long into the future the sun has turned red, the population of earth is a fraction of it's former number, everyone who still lives knows the earth is in it's final days, the world is littered with ruins. old treasures, leftover demons and aging magics and technology. Nothing anyone does can make things better, but there's still adventure to be had.
    Great shit.

  29. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    for people who can read frog language. author mentions dark souls as an influence. i'm not too familiar with the games but the story is about an ancient cursed city. heavy atmosphere, lingering sadness, minimal dialogue, and massive horrifying creatures

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Sounds interesting. Shame there's no translation.

  30. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The collected works of isaac beelzebub singer or sam bellow if youre a canadian homosexual.

  31. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Dark Souls is hamster wheel pew pew zoomer trash. Why would you waste time clicking a mouse to move some pixels around lmao

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Why would you waste time staring at paper/a screen with letters and hallucinating?

      • 3 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        it's obviously bait bro, please ignore it

  32. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I can't prove this but sources around From say that Miyazaki got his inspiration from reading western fantasy novels that he couldn't fully understand because of course he was ESL, and this is reflected in his style of intentionally limiting player information.

    What is unsaid is what he read, but I actually have a decent guess, which is that Dark Souls is based off of the Chronicles of Pryddain by Alexander Lloyd.

    My reasoning for this is pretty clear. The Cauldron Borne have a lot in common with Hollows, they were once living men who died, but were resurrected by the Black Cauldron as immortal but hollow shells of their former selves.

    The series was based off of Welsh mythology and so has a lot of Welsh sounding names, Prince Gwyddion is one of the characters and he fricking sounds like a Dark Souls boss. The Dark Sign looks like the mouth of a cauldron, an oblique reference to the origin of the story.

    What's most interesting is that the cauldron could only be destroyed by a living person sacrificing themselves by climbing into it while still alive--there is some symbolism for Linking the Flame here but it goes through the filter of Miyazaki not speaking English well and also being Japanese and thus having no understanding of Christian soteriology.

    • 3 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Insightful post.

  33. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    There's nothing truly like Dark Souls but here a few series/books with elements of them. Worth noting Berserk and Blame! if you like manga.
    The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
    The Chronicles of the Black Company by Glen Cook
    The Dying Earth by Jack Vance
    H.P. Lovecraft's works (Bloodborne)
    The Wizard Knight series by Gene Wolfe (confused time, time stratification and descending/ascending worlds, "soul" sharing, dragons and dragon shapeshiters and unreliable narration)

  34. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I don't know why, but Les Chants de Maldoror gives me a Dark Souls/Bloodborne vibe.
    Also I remember I read something about D. H. Lawrence being related to Bloodborne somehow. And the obvious biggest influence in that game is Lovecraft, so there's that.

  35. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    You have to go back.

  36. 3 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    the Malazan series was written by an archaeologist and uses an elliptical writing approach to epic narrative similar to DS. You're dropped in media res and drip fed eons of minor pantheons, elder gods, rituals, tribes, martial conquest to piece together.
    Although if you want a singular protagonist in a grimdark gothic setting like DS this ain't that

  37. 3 weeks ago
    s.ä.g.e..

    Arcane has nothing to do with League, fortunately.

  38. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Ashes of the Necropolis and Hollow Kingdom. Haven’t read the third in the series.

  39. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's gratifying seeing the souls games being discussed on IQfy. They're my favourite games of all time.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *