VR Testimonials?

Have any of you taken the VR plunge? I've always been skeptical, and have abstained. Has it reached a point where it's actually good?

Tip Your Landlord Shirt $21.68

UFOs Are A Psyop Shirt $21.68

Tip Your Landlord Shirt $21.68

  1. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Has it reached a point where it's actually good?
    No

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      fpbp but zero (you)s, he's right, it's trash

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I disagree tbqh

  2. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    VR is great but you should have a few games you actually want to play before you invest. For me most of my time in VR has been spent playing sims like Assetto Corsa and Microsoft Flight Simulator, as well as gooning to stereoscopic 3D porn converted from 2D with AI. A lot of people buy a VR headset with no plan then end up never using it.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Also, there are a lot of great VR mods but most people are too moronic to install mods. VR is very much still at the hobbyist level where you have to want to tinker to get the most out of it.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        You must be one of those people too moronic to install mods I mentioned earlier

        I've been modding games since the 90s, zoomer. The community can't fix VR

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >The community can't fix VR
          See here's the thing. It already has. So maybe you can install a mod but you've already given up on VR. So you're just pessimistic about it no matter what.

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            >just install a mod
            What mod. Got examples? Of course not, just keep being vague

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Cyberpunk is excellent with the VR mod.

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            UEVR

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Outer Wilds VR mod is the best time I've spent gaming and I'm approaching 40. Pretty much all the remake RE games also have VR mods.
            There's tons honestly, I think there's even a wiki somewhere. "Flat2VR" or something. Might be a discord.

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Is vorpx still the big one? I saw morrowind in vr years ago

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >stereoscopic 3D porn converted from 2D with AI.
      What tool do you use to make one?

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        https://github.com/nagadomi/nunif

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >stereoscopic 3D porn converted from 2D with AI
      You have ignited a new passion in me. Thank you.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        It's the only way to coom at this point. Anyone who doesn't look at 2D->3D porn is living in the past cooming like a caveman imo. It works great even with old low res images.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Can you link an example of that? I fail to imagine it

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >as well as gooning to stereoscopic 3D porn converted from 2D with AI.

      What tool do you use and how good is this tech now btw? I tried it with an extention for the stable diffusion web UI and it wasn't good enough

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        See

        https://github.com/nagadomi/nunif

        I used depthmap extension as well. The results were pretty good imo but it was not an efficient tool. It's too slow, there is too much overhead. IW3 is much faster. If you're not impressed with the results I think you're likely not using the right settings for generating, or for viewing. I get great results with these settings. For viewing I use a freeware tool called StereoPhoto Maker together with Virtual Desktop. Images look best when you are zoomed out a bit and can see the whole image.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          catbox an example for us? I can free view 3d as long as its cross eyed

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          nothing with ROCM?

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            You get what you pay for

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            That was just a question for my current Linux setup, I don't care about your poorgay gymnastics of validating your NVIDIA purchase.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          are these your settings what do you reccomend?

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Thank you anon. I am doing something similar right now, using depth map from depth-anything to shift pixels and fill in the blank with scipy.distance_transform_edt but the hard edges are not great. Seems their stereo generation method is better. How's the speed?

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >How's the speed?
        With a 3090ti + 5800x3D using IW3 you can iterate over an entire folder with subfolders filled with hundreds or thousands of images like it's nothing. Where as before I was using depthmap extension one set might have taken an hour, now it's 10 minutes. I can convert a full length Hollywood movie at 1080p in like 5-6 hours.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          That's good, Saw your sample and it looks good, will be trying this out, thanks!

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            np

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >How's the speed?
        With a 3090ti + 5800x3D using IW3 you can iterate over an entire folder with subfolders filled with hundreds or thousands of images like it's nothing. Where as before I was using depthmap extension one set might have taken an hour, now it's 10 minutes. I can convert a full length hollywood movie at 1080p in like 5-6 hours.

        Just dipping my toes into this. Converted an old upscaled 1440x1080 30min clip to fullsbs in 45mins. 7800x3d + 4090.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Yup, I've got so much time sunk in beat saber, especially once I modded it to download custom songs. I now understand why rhythm games are so popular

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      https://github.com/nagadomi/nunif

      This is nice and itll probably be the best porn use case for VR when it improves. The depth is pretty accurate, the actual problems are foreground edges having so much distortion and artifacts. Combined with AI upscaling every video and photo you own can be presented as luxuriously as possible.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Just realized heresphere can multiplex video and you can make a wall of 3d videos

        RIP dick

  3. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    VR has been very good for a long time, for all of the five things worth using it for. theres just no software worth investing in the hardware for, only a few games are worth much let alone investing hundreds of dollars to play and "spatial computing" has yet to really take off.
    the AVP is by far the best implimentation of the hardware concepts but by far the worst software
    MQ3 is a decent balance but requires a facebook account
    Valve Index is as good as PCVR gets in terms of a complete package
    BSB is the lightest and clearest headset but has no real support
    without a real software push it'll never get past the gimmick stage. AVP was really trying but that's even more niche than VR already was.

    wait for AVP 3 or 4 and the industry will have caught up for software implimentations

  4. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Bought my Index in 2021, packed it up in 2022, havn't touched it since. Half Life Alyx is the only VR game worth playing, everything else is a tech demo or a single concept app like beat saber. played some virtamate porn game for a while too, but it got old fast.
    >inb4 you lie VR is the best thing ever and no one would ever choose flat screens over VR
    pic related, 2 years worth of dust

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >pic related, 2 years worth of dust
      so sell it?

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        No. I never sell anything

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >no i hate having 600$, i'd rather just keep this thing around wasting space so i can occasionally take a photo of it and say it's useless on an internet messageboard

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Believe it or not that brings me more satisfaction than VR games ever did

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            based. for me it was this, until i moved interstate and couldn't be bothered taking it with me

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      You must be one of those people too moronic to install mods I mentioned earlier

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      OP asked if VR is good in 2024, not 2021. Try new games and headsets

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Which consumer vr headset is better than the index?
        https://steamdb.info/charts/?category=54
        Oh look, the same games that were at the top of the list in 2022 are still there today. The only one I don't recognize is Ghosts of Tabor, so that is progress, I guess

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >Ghosts of Tabor
          Tons of fun with friends btw. The real issue here is that the vidya industry as a whole is putting out shite. So it's not just VR that has no releases. VR just doesn't have a massive back catalogue of classic games, which is where community mods come in. It's a shame we have all this awesome tech and it's being used to render ugly Black folk

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            >The real issue here is that the vidya industry as a whole is putting out shite
            This is absolutely true, but regular games have 2 major advantages over VR in this regard, relating to the age and size of the industry. The age part of the equation is what you've mentioned, regular games have been around for a long time and as such a very large back catalogue of good games has accumulated over many years. VR just doesn't have this. The other problem is the size. The regular games industry puts out a lot of crap but the industry is also very big. If you actually enjoy video games it's impossible for you to not find good, new games to play even if you ignore the waves of crap coming out. There are SO many games that even if the % of good games is very small, it's still a sizable number in terms of what an individual can play. With VR this just isn't the case, the industry is small, the number of games coming out is way smaller, if only a tiny % of those games are actually good then the "good game output" of the VR industry is basically nothing.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Index controller is definitely still good, but your average consumer headset now has 2k res per eye and better optics. If you pay over 1k there higher res ones. Also games get updates. Index is not bad but by no mean it represent the state of VR in 2024

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            You need a card yhat can push that many pixels at 120+hz. And the games often look like nintendo wii to make up for that. It would be nice to have a rdr2 tier game in VR but all we have is skyrim ported and a 2 hour game that like hl alyx that isn't open world. When grand theft auto has vr support is when there will be actual vr sales. If GTA 6 gets a (good) vr port people will want to own one.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          What games have been released in the past two years that are worth playing? Hogwarts? Hell Divers? C'mon IQfy

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      If you're in that much money, have you not tried racing and flight sims? Blade and sorcery? Skyrim VR + mods? Boneworks? Vertigo?

      We have no idea if you tried these games and didn't like them or if you just have some financial domination fetish with valve

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I've got blade and sorcery, boneworks, both have shit controls. I have no interest in skyrim but I've seen enough to know that Bethesda is charging 80$ for a minimal effort vr port of a 13 year old game
        Also the average vr enjpyer accusing anyone of having a fetish is hilarious. They are like true believers in a cult. Don't be mad that VR never had that kind of hold on me and I can criticize the chronic low standards of VR devs

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          I don't know what else to think when you keep sabotaging yourself anon. B&S has a weird inventory thats probably going to be overhauled. I changed the trigger button to not slide weapon handles. I can't think of anything else you could be talking about. I haven't gotten to boneworks myself yet. I agree skyrim VR isn't worth full price, but how many times has it been on sale?

  5. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    for porn, there is no turning back once you go vr

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      i worked as a vr game dev for a few years. VR goggles are just dedicated porn machines

      VR porn = you standing still like a victim while some prostitute awkwardly has sex with you. It's very unappealing.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        They need to do 3d lidar scans instead of just shooting in stereo so the pov can actually move. I think a company is currently doing something similar where they're scanning in pornstars

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          But then you would be in the pov of a cuck

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            The camera would be affixed to the skeleton but you could free camera as well

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          The camera would be affixed to the skeleton but you could free camera as well

          he's right that theres a disgust problem for non-pov. VR makes you realize you're a weirdo watching people that aren't you have sex. Room presence is bad if theres another male involved, especially if your vantage point is close to genitals

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            But I would like to be the penis and have a view right above the penis like my eyes slamming into her pussy as though my nose were a penis.

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            that's basically like walking up to a dude and saying "hey can I lay my face on your belly why you frick your girl bro"

            extremely gay

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            It's more like wearing a strap on on your hear

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        its such a potentially reality altering application, yet no one is doing it right or even exploring what could be done

        i'm not antiporn by any stretch but the entire industry is so lazy, anti-art, and low effort because practically anything it does is a money printer, there is no way for it to truly make use of vr

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        This is why javr is popular. Western porn industry is shit. Maybe things will improve when there's consumer passthrough headsets that can record, like a cheaper apple vision

  6. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    this video about the bigscreen beyond makes me want to get into sim racing

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >11 minute video

      jfc just make your point

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Just use AI to summarize the video if you don't want to watch guy

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >makes me want to get into sim racing
      It's worth it. Get haptic transducers on your seat and it's another level again.

  7. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I ordered my vive-presale as soon as they were available. The novelty does wear off, but I still enjoy it. Not really considering upgrading just yet due to the cost, feels like a waste. I'll wait for the next major improvement, almost there. I spend most of my time...
    >Google earth VR
    >Assetto corsa sim racing
    >The odd experience or single player game like HLalyx

  8. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Bought one in 2018 after my promotion, haven't touched it since 2021. getting into the demo and seeing the dynamic perspective of particles and environments tracked in real time is something to experience. then you load up a game or some software and realize "wow. this is really awkward. nobody really knows what to do with the technology and my lenses are already fogging up and I'm starting to notice how everything's slightly out of focus and pixelated." and then you go to check the porn scene and it's meh

    it's a classic case of "just solve it in software" but the number of variables involved in 3D biological actions are so much more vast than a traditional computer experience and there's a catch 22 going in terms of needing mass adoption for the money to be there but needing the money to be there for the experience to be good enough for mass adoption

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Yeah, I tried some earlier versions than that and the problems were being tethered by many cables, uncomfortable sweaty headset, and shitty resolution. I think some of these issues are much better, especially resolution, but have not tried any VR shit in a few years. The Apple VR looks pretty cool but I'm not shelling out mega $$$ just to say "woah neat' and then throw it in a drawer after a few days.

  9. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's a gimmick.
    Also, no commercial VR system solves the depth of field issue and only fakes 3D using parallax

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      our brains fake 3D using parallax, our eyes can't sense depth. our eyes only sense photons, not... lidar? I'm not even sure what mechanism you think our eyes would be using to sense depth. the problem isn't "depth of field" the problem is lensing effects. optics is hard and humans are all different. even if you get a person's optometrist prescription to know just how their lenses work, bending light to the extent that it hits the eyes right requires either extremely large or extremely expensive arrangements

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Eyes actually can sense depth. In fact, half the population (mostly women) predominantly sense 3D via depth

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Makes sense. If I close one eye, the other one is still able to adapt its focus.

          our brains fake 3D using parallax, our eyes can't sense depth. our eyes only sense photons, not... lidar? I'm not even sure what mechanism you think our eyes would be using to sense depth. the problem isn't "depth of field" the problem is lensing effects. optics is hard and humans are all different. even if you get a person's optometrist prescription to know just how their lenses work, bending light to the extent that it hits the eyes right requires either extremely large or extremely expensive arrangements

          is a moron.

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            VR hardware was adequate right from the get go of this current "generation" or whatever you want to call it. Sure the fidelity was lacking to some degree (and it still is) but it was already good enough to actually run and play most any sort of VR game you could imagine. Hardware was never the issue and obviously the image quality has improved since the OG Rift and Vive. The problem with VR is that the software (games) side is very lacking.

            To be perfectly honest, the VR games industry is fricking shit. You will find more and also better content in shit like mods or fan-made VR ports of regular games. That's the current state and I would not expect it to change in the near future or very quickly. If you're OK with that you may consider buying a headset, if not then it's not the time.

            >the other one is still able to adapt its focus
            Is that how it works? Rudimentary cameras can auto-focus just fine despite not being able to take pictures or record video with depth information in it. The problem of "make the image not blurry" can probably be solved without measuring the distance to something and then adjusting based on that, in fact you can tell whether an image is blurry or not without needing any sort of depth information, so why would you think you need that information in order to focus? What you're saying makes no sense.

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            >Is that how it works?
            NTA, and you're right that the "autofocus" argument is a bit weak. It actually sorta works in reverse, and one element of your depth perception in influenced by sensing how hard your eyes are focusing to look at an object. Human brains use a whole range of heuristics to judge distance, and binocular vision is just one small part of it. There's an entire fricking wikipedia page on it:
            https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depth_perception
            And as the other anon mentioned, there are significant gender-based differences in how spatial perception works. It is legitimately interesting how VR as it is currently implemented favours "male" spatial perception, but is weaker in terms of "female" spatial perception.
            I'm not ready to discard VR entirely because it's sexist or something. But it's a good point to acknowledge that our technology for it stands to improve in certain areas.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >Is that how it works?
          NTA, and you're right that the "autofocus" argument is a bit weak. It actually sorta works in reverse, and one element of your depth perception in influenced by sensing how hard your eyes are focusing to look at an object. Human brains use a whole range of heuristics to judge distance, and binocular vision is just one small part of it. There's an entire fricking wikipedia page on it:
          https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depth_perception
          And as the other anon mentioned, there are significant gender-based differences in how spatial perception works. It is legitimately interesting how VR as it is currently implemented favours "male" spatial perception, but is weaker in terms of "female" spatial perception.
          I'm not ready to discard VR entirely because it's sexist or something. But it's a good point to acknowledge that our technology for it stands to improve in certain areas.

          Are you guys telling me women have broken binocular vision or something?

          What would this even be like? Their vision looks flatter than a mans? Their vision looks similar if they close one eye?

          I find that kind of hard to believe

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            They still have depth perception!
            They just don't generally rely on "how angled the eyes are to one another" or "parallax between both eyes" to perceive depth.
            They just use the other depth perception mechanism the human brain uses. I think the current hypothesis is they use their better colour perception to detect monocular cues like shadows/texture/blurriness etc...
            Also, if you really wanted to experience it yourself, there was at least one paper suggesting that trannies on estrogen also experience the change (and anecdotal comments that some of them stop liking VR as much).

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        This post is a moronic non sequitur reply to a moronic post, can you guys get a club?

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Midwit thought process.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      you're using buzzwords you don't even know what they mean

      I take it you're trying to say VR headsets aren't verifocal. But they don't have to be to be "3D". Depth of focus is one of many indicators you can use, its not even important for a 3D effect. The industry cares about verifocal so we can see very close objects and headsets won't fatigue vision. And it's necessary for the image to be completely realistic.

      You don't know what parallax is. Parallax is relevant to monocular vision moving between two vantage points. Flat games have parallax. Even flat games with 2D graphics can fake parallax. It has little to do with VR.

      VR headsets are actually 3D in the most important way, they have stereoscopic images and you see them with your binocular vision.

  10. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I have a pico4 but I knew what I wanted it for and it was good because of that

    Playing flight simulators

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >pico4
      Looks interesting. Are you saying it's only good for simulators but not stuff like video?

  11. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I got a headset from a relative a year ago, I don't like the idea of strapping screens to my face.

  12. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Well VR hentai girls are great if you're a truecel like me. Seeing the pores on Widowmakers/Witch Mercy's face made me cum buckets.

    Half-Life Alyx was alright, kinda boring but Super Hot was great but only a few hours. If you have younger siblings, I found that they also really like Roblox VR.

  13. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I mainly use my VR headset with my PC to play simulators and related, i.e. Elite with HOTAS, different flight sims with HOTAS and racing sims with wheel.

  14. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    VR has been "good" from an execution standpoint since the quest 2. The index was also a good headset but it wasn't worth the price.

    The quest 2 is $200 now if you are worried it's going to be a flash in the pan for you. Aside from privacy shit the only thing wrong with it is you will missing out on good sound. There's 3 ways to wirelessly link to your PC, two being free. Just don't have a shit router and follow the guides.

    If you've really never tried VR you should be very impressed with the best games. But the usual warnings about the small library remain, figure out if you're interested in enough games to make the purchase.

    If you like VR enough inside the return period of a quest 2 you could switch to a quest 3 which is known for its dramatic lens improvement. I'd avoid higher end headsets because the options in 2025 could be way better

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >the options in 2025 could be way better
      whats coming down the pipeline?

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Micro-oled displays are the next lowest fruit for VR but apple used up all the supply, by 2025 more manufacturers could be using them. This means more headsets with over 3000px resolutions, inky black levels, and decent brightness with pancake lenses. Hardware partners for horizon OS could be materializing too, so basically quest-like headsets with more premium hardware.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >options in 2025 could be way better
      that's what I'm waiting for. the resolution on quest 2 is good enough to use for sure but 2x the resolution and lighten the headset by a half and this starts getting very very cool to use.

      it's too much of a chore to fit the headset on quickly and get into the system right now. it's close.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Feel the same but with something like a kiwi style headstrap thats hinged it's very easy to get in. Just put the mask over your eyes and fold it down. You don't have to re-adjust the tightness. The only thing that bothers me is flipping up the hmd doesn't work great.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          I use a kiwi strap, for me I press the headset against my face then tighten the back. I only use the hinges if I need to get access to the lenses for cleaning.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          with quest 2 the biggest limitation is getting the eyepieces at the right distance. there are only three set sizes and i and many others need to get it between sizes to be just right. that's a lazy oversight - they need five or six eye width settings. haven't to take it on and off and adjust the eye piece distance is annoying af.

  15. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    [...]

    Yeah I just tried depth anything, I was using zoe depth

    The one I ran has bad edges but looking at the depth map it actually produced a female body shape and didn't just popup book the image

  16. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's a good novelty, maybe not worth the investment depending on your cashflow.
    Lacking in killer apps, maybe a dozen games max that are worth a damn.
    VR Chat is unique and interesting.

    VR is significantly more immersive than regular monitor play, but it is notably NOT "fully" immersive and wont be until we develop some kind of magical force feedback technology, or start doing spinal taps.
    VR is not compatible with all types of games so it is not a universal upgrade

    I wouldn't recommend it for anybody other than enthusiasts.

  17. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    VR is for gaymers and coomers. Don't waste your money.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >VR is for gaymers and coomers
      That's if the only thing you can do is to consoom.

  18. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    VR is amazing at a few select things, but not really mass marketable with how much of a hassle it is to set up everytime, if you don't have a permanent setup.
    iRacing in VR might just be the most fun I've had at a computer, but it better be with how expensive everything involved is. Assetto Corsa and Project Cars are also really good but don't have as good a multiplayer as iRenting.
    Best cars to drive are the open top cars. The spatial awareness you gain with VR is crazy.
    As for porn, 3d videos kind of suck, not a big fan. VirtaMate is hard work to get working right but I've busted some fat nuts using it.

  19. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Bought every consumer headset that was released till 2020, ended up keeping the index and the quest 2. Index is easy to hop in games and quest 2 is great for video watching.
    It's effectively a waste of money and the only wow factor I got was from half life alyx. Vrchat is cool to hop in occassionaly and it is honestly the only app that makes the hardware entirely worth it. Thing is I don't use vrchat much because im not a troony or closet troony. There isn't any new games worth playing unless you like "stock unity asset spookfest #456"

  20. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Have any of you taken the VR plunge?
    Yes

    >Has it reached a point where it's actually good?
    It has always been a very interesting thing to program for. You literally can immerse into your own creation and program virtual environment around yourself, how can this be not fun?
    Also some games like elite dangerous and beat saber are pretty cool.

  21. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's been good for 7 years. I'm literally in VR right now typing this

  22. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I had one of these microsoft/dell visors and it was a mixed bag. The games where really fun and i think that spending around 250 euros just to be able to play beatsaber is worth it but anything that has to do something with Microsoft only works sometimes so i sold them. I used windows back then so i dont know anything about linux vr.

  23. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It's still a niche product. Works really well for racing and flight sims, but for everything else it's still more of a tech demo than something actually useful.
    >t.Reverb G1 that I now only use on Assetto Corsa and Euro Truck Simulator 2

  24. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I have a Quest 3, its fantastic. Standalone, wireless, works on PC, where there is tons of shit, UEVR recently that adds tons of games with motion controls and 6dof. But you NEED to have a beefy PC, my 6800XT and 5700 fricking dies on bigger games like Robocop or Hellblade 2

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Should I get a Quest 3 if I typically enjoy Dirt Rally 2, Asseto, and potentially get into Flight Sim. I’m really curious about this Beat Saber thing too. I’ve got a 4080 and 5800x3D and am really bored lately. Messing around in Beam Ng seems cool, lately I only use my PC connected to my 70” tv right at the foot of my bed but I just browse youtube, pointless.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        If you have that setup you should consider a Bigscreen Beyond instead and buy the Steam tracking things and knuckles. There's no need for a standalone headset if you're just going to stream to it from the PC. I have a Quest 2 and getting it to work with SteamVR is a pain. You can do it but it's not a good experience, like using a VM but there's the extra complication of translating the Quest's tracking to SteamVR.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Not that Anon, but I owned a Dell mixed reality. I liked it, but it was a pain. My Quest 3 is a world of different and just works, it still has issues though that's mostly related to meta.

          If you buy one, please, please avoid any of the meta apps/world as possible (do everything through steam) otherwise it will continue to haunt you. Every time I start up my Quest I get bombarded with friend recommendations for people I do not know nor met and I can't delete the public profile/avatar.

          Wait does Quest work well with Steam or not? Some people have problems and others don’t.

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            It works well once you actually get it set up which is annoying. But then there are some games like Star Wars squadrons that are broken. But fallout 4, pavlov, skyrim, vr paradise, dirt rally all worked for me. I have an rtx3060 and a mobo with usbc on the io and not with pins.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Not that Anon, but I owned a Dell mixed reality. I liked it, but it was a pain. My Quest 3 is a world of different and just works, it still has issues though that's mostly related to meta.

        If you buy one, please, please avoid any of the meta apps/world as possible (do everything through steam) otherwise it will continue to haunt you. Every time I start up my Quest I get bombarded with friend recommendations for people I do not know nor met and I can't delete the public profile/avatar.

  25. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    The hardware has been good for a couple of generations now.

    Just like 3D tvs, nobody is using it for anything that would make you want to buy it and since adoption is slow by consumers it also stays slow for creators.

    Y'all also let Facebook take over the biggest VR corpo which is not good either

  26. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It’s great and fun but it’s not like a console or PC where you can just veg out and play for hours (it’s not something that helps you unwind, in fact it’s the opposite). As such, once the initial wow factor fades, many people tend to stop using it.

    I’m waiting for the next gen releases - higher resolution OLED displays, pancake lenses, foveated rendering, inside-out controller tracking, pcvr compatibility

  27. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Have any of you taken the VR plunge?
    I haven't, but I'm getting extremely close. I'm just waiting for a light 4K per eye headset to come out and then I'll just get rid of my monitor. Hopefully the Deckard will release soon... Otherwise I'll have to go with Immersed's Visor, and if that turns out to be vaporware, Quest Pro 2 is supposed to come out next year I believe.
    There's so much VR stuff I want to write. Having a third dimension I can easily interact with will probably enable the amount of information density I want for my dream debugger.

  28. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    VR can be amazing as escapism. If you put on the goggles in a messy environment, you will feel a calm cleansing feeling. It's better than life then. You talk to people in VRChat, explore the world in Google Earth VR, shoot some zombies in Half Life Alyx, meditate and paint and get your daily exercise through Beat Saber. After a while you get out of the depression and fix your life and never return to VR.

  29. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I use mine exclusively for VAM

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Is that supposed to be Watson?

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      you can do so much better with gaussian splatting
      better yet just wait until AI can generate everything from scratch

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >you can do so much better with gaussian splatting
        not right now you can't

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I have a soft spot for ripped/ported models from game. the look alike celeb ones are rarely good. there's nothing quite like getting a lapdance from 2B or Tifa in VR

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >gaussian splatting
        No animation, no dynamic lighting, just AI wank.

  30. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I had my VR peak 2016 - 2019. I've played Honey Select in VR mode almost daily and used the posing tool to make giantess scenes. I lost so many hair to cooming. Sold the Quest CV1 because these greedy fricks stopped selling their replacement cables

  31. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Some games are really neat in VR. Like people said, Assetto Corsa and MSFS are probably some of the best. BeamNG, PCars2, Satisfactory, VAM, and Skyrim are worth it if you like those games. Google Earth is cool.

  32. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I have a quest 2 and it's okay but the usb c to pc is the shittiest factor and getting it to work with steam breaks every update. If I had the money I would have bought an index. But now index is old and I would wait for index 2. But on a budget I would probably just get a quest 3 if I wanted to try it right now.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Stop updating the shitty oculus application. Block everything in your firewall, it dials out 24/7 if you don't. Mine functions like an extra monitor because it's just getting dumped back to 127.0.0.1. I thought about scooping up an index or a Q3 but I'm going to wait until next year. Pimax isn't as simple as the Quest, and it's sad to say, but the Q3 is the new standard, and base stations are archaic. Q2 even had eye tracking but nobody used it.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I have a few standalone games on it so I don't need the stupid usbc.

  33. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I use my Meta Quest II every day. I have adult-onset strabismus (probably from using my phone extremely close to my face) and it has essentially fixed it.
    I just use it mostly to read e-books in VR at a distance and to watch movies, but I play beat saber pretty often too. As from beat saber, I haven't found any VR game too compelling. Even Half Life Alyx was meh and I haven't finished it.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Have you tried using glasses and not holding your phone right next to your face or are you just gooning for hours?

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        I don't use my phone at all anymore; the problem is once the problem starts you need to be "active" to fix it, it doesn't self-resolve.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      which app do you use to read books, anon?

  34. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Vision Pro in a bigscreen beyond form factor, standalone, <=$1000
    this is when VR will become mainstream

  35. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    i worked as a vr game dev for a few years. VR goggles are just dedicated porn machines

  36. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Yes. I own:

    >PSVR1
    >PSVR2
    >Index

    And I only got into it when I realized my life was shit and I needed escapism. Then I got married and I don't really need it anymore. I don't get the same effect from it. Is it still cool? Yes, to me, it always will be, but I don't find the need to run and hide in VR anymore.

    But that's just my story, anon. Yours could be different.

  37. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    My experience is that i bought a quest 2 now that it's cheaper, found that all games cost $20, that you need a special cable and windows os to play PC vr games, and that the stuff i could run (that gorilla game and that social the sims like game where everyone is an an anime) are dominated by literal 12 yos.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      You bought a gaming handheld and are are surprised 12 year olds are using it? And you're surprised the walled garden gaming store has nintendo pricing? And you don't have a dual boot for when you need windows? And you consider a usbc cable to be a wild purchase to make on a device not advertised as that being the primary use? Skill issue.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        It's not any old usbc cable. It's a specific type with higher bandwidth that is more expensive.

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          It needs bandwidth for 3664x3840 90hz? Frick

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >you need a special cable and windows os to play PC vr games
      Dunno about the OS but my Q2 runs fine over wireless for SteamVR. You need non-shit WiFi (minimum ac, ideally ax) and the computer cabled in.

  38. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I own/have owned:

    > HTC Vive
    > Vive Pro 1
    > Vive Pro 2
    > Reverb G1
    > Reverb G2
    > Index
    > Pimax 8k
    > Vive XR Elite
    > Lenovo Explorer

    Objectively speaking VR has not changed much in the past 10 years, it's all roughly the same experience. Not sure what you consider as it being "finally good" or what you're waiting for exactly. Sure there are improvements to the optics, resolution or the ease of use every year, but nothing so major or groundbreaking that would suddenly turn it into the real life matrix. If you can't enjoy the technology in its current state then it simply isn't for you, and that's okay.

    If you havent tried any of it, i would say now is as good a time to try it as any other. There is a honeymoon period where even just standing and looking at things is thrilling enough, but after awhile that initial high fades and goes one of two ways - you either keep buying different gear to see more of what the tech has to offer and chasing that first wow factor, or you get bored of the thing and just throw the headset in a closet and forget about it.

  39. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I bought the original Vive back in 2017.
    As others have said, it mainly collects dust.
    Only game really worth playing is Alyx.

  40. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    There's certain experiences that absolutely sing in VR, but apart from entertainment and video games, it's not going to replace personal computing anytime soon, Apple's pretensions to 'spatial computing' be damned. Watching TV and such with it can be pretty cool, because you can make the 'tv' as big as you want, and even watch a large display while lying down. VRChat as a social experience can be incredible, and honestly was a huge boon to me during the pandemic(on top of dealing with some other issues at the time), since it allowed me to socialize in a hypothetical 3D space and make friends, shoot pool, watch movies together, typical hangout stuff, without leaving the house. Half-Life Alyx is the big game everyone nuts themselves over, but there's plenty of worthwhile VR games out there, it's just that since the platform isn't really championed by any big AAA devs except very sparsely with releases like MoH Above and Beyond and that Horizon Zero Dawn VR thing, the best stuff is all weird indie titles with minimal support. I had a great deal of fun with Arizona Sunshine 1 and 2(2 is way better), After the Fall, Zero Caliber, and most recently my go-to title has been Into the Radius, which is fantastic if you like the immersion factors of something like H3VR but want it to be an actual game instead of just a sandbox of toys. You have to regularly maintain your guns, manually reload mags, you can become overencumbered which slows you down, manage health and hunger, and try to come back alive after each foray.

  41. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Still skeptical here on a purely privacy basis.
    Do you still have to sign in to some online service to even start up your headset? I'm admittedly very behind on VR and would only consider using it on PC.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      zuck headsets yes. They dont require an internet connection to work, but initial setup needs internet, and you have to use a phone with internet and the meta app and gps location turned on

      And if you ever connect the headset to the internet to update it, I think it keeps telemetry stored and uploads it. I don't care about updating my headset this late in product life, but I have to find some way to update the steam link client

  42. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    How do you people connect the quest 2 to a windows desktop? Do I have to buy that quest 2 virtual desktop app?

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      >https://www.meta.com/quest/setup/
      The native software has a virtual desktop function, but the Virtual Desktop app is quite nice, especially if you want to look at stereo 3D content.

      • 4 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Can I watch 3d 360 videos using the native app? Is it good enough?
        As for gaming, is it done though one of those apps, steam vr, a third option, or two or more of those?

        • 4 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Use DeoVR for that which is available on Quest or PC. Or you can try HereSphere VR on pc (this one costs money but there is a demo that has all the functionality of the paid version but makes you sit through a 15 second prompt every once in a while)

          • 4 weeks ago
            Anonymous

            Thanks, that's valuable info. This thread motivated me to finally buy the usbc cable to use my quest2 with the pc.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      official app (free but dont trust zuck), virtual desktop (best but paid), or steam link (free)

      Can I watch 3d 360 videos using the native app? Is it good enough?
      As for gaming, is it done though one of those apps, steam vr, a third option, or two or more of those?

      Use DeoVR for that which is available on Quest or PC. Or you can try HereSphere VR on pc (this one costs money but there is a demo that has all the functionality of the paid version but makes you sit through a 15 second prompt every once in a while)

      Heresphere is by far the best player because it has an "autofocus" feature that makes it easier to look at things, especially up close. You can pair it with XBVR for metadata scraping. Go to the VR video thread on /t/ if you have questions

  43. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Good for porn

  44. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I'm shitposting from the bigshit begone in the overlay right now. It is nice in that it's finally light and small enough not to feel like a brick on your face, unlike every other headset. Also the resolution is good enough to read text in the overlay, without zooming in. However, it's still not comfortable enough to use as a monitor replacement, imo.

    VR is still essentially a peripheral for certain games that enhances immersion but isnt strictly necessary, like a wheel and pedals or hotas. it is really great when it works though. it is the best way to play Outer Wilds.

  45. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    i just want a headset light enough i can wear it with no fatigue with a display clear enough i can read text with the fidelity of my monitor. does that exist yet?

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Closest would be big screen but it cant do full res at 90hz, and no pass through at all is dumb when it would've been such a good desktop headset. Its still not clear as your monitor depending on what you're talking about. Competing with a 1080p monitor is easy, 1440p is near future, 4k is a ways off.

      There are headsets with higher res than the big screen but the weight shoots up

  46. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >walk outside
    >can't feel the dirt under your feet
    >walk past a flower
    >can't smell it
    >pick up an apple
    >no weight, no taste
    are we actualy any closer to Virtual Reality now than we were twenty years ago?

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I'm the guy.

  47. 4 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I got a CV1 years back. Was quite immersive and interesting, with both engaging hands-on games and erotic content. However, I moved into a space for a few years where I couldn't use VR anymore due to size constraints, so I packed it up and haven't used it since. Though, I built a new PC late last year, so I imagine it'd handle it much better. The biggest risk to VR is inconvenience, and that is why many people end up shelving it after a while. However, improvements to that have been made over time (especially with standalone HMDs).

    The social VR stuff is kind of boring in my opinion, especially since I'm not exactly a social butterfly. However, if your interests align with any of the other big three:
    >Simulator titles (flight, driving, etc)
    >Shooters/FPP adventure titles
    >Porn/erotica
    Then tldr: it has a lot to offer. There's also horror, which can be quite engaging, but you need to find the good shit, since there's a lot of shovelware horror VR. Everyone saying "just wait until it's good" are the people who won't actually try any of it beyond a handful of experiences and then say it's no good. It's not perfect, no, but even my old CV1 achieved the core principle of immersion.

    Considering we're getting standalone VR HMDs with eye tracking, pancake lenses, and much more powerful and efficient processors, now is not a bad time to jump in if you're eager. If you want to wait for better consumer-tier VR HMDs that include eye tracking for focal rendering and immersive face visuals or whatever at more friendly price points, then maybe wait for the next wave. Beyond that, it's good fun, and more people should actually try it with a wide variety of games before saying it's shit or has no content.

    • 4 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      carmack pointed out that facebook was probably losing a lot of repeat customers because people would think to pick up their headset, realized it needed to be charged, then they would decide to do it later and forget the whole thing. He wanted to ship the headset with a charging dock but it never happened. But its worse than that. The quest 2 has something like a 3 foot charging cable instead of a 6 foot one. I have so much trouble figuring out where to put that shit with my entire house at my disposal, most people have one room

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *