All somewhat introverted teenage boys should be required to read Steppenwolf in my opinion.

All somewhat introverted teenage boys should be required to read Steppenwolf in my opinion. Just make them read it before it's too late for them.
Same thing goes for watching Evangelion.

Thalidomide Vintage Ad Shirt $22.14

The Kind of Tired That Sleep Won’t Fix Shirt $21.68

Thalidomide Vintage Ad Shirt $22.14

  1. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Same thing goes for watching Evangelion.
    One of the first and most impactful things I learned when I first started getting into reading literature was that old ass books did Evangelion better than NGE itself. Crazy to think I used to consider NGE to be creative and well-written. Still a fun series, but...

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      > old ass books did Evangelion better than NGE itself
      Can you name the books pls

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Steppenwolf for one, then you've got most of what Faulkner wrote, but especially Quentin's chapter in The Sound and the Fury. Flaubert's The Temptation of Saint Anthony is great as well, and...
        Crime and Punishment
        Leaves of Grass
        Nietzsche as a whole (just don't get wrapped up in the autistic cult of personality the dude has)
        Kierkegaard
        Jakob Böhme
        King Lear, Hamlet, Macbeth
        Moby Dick
        I don't remember which chapter it's in exactly, but there's a dialogue in the first part of Don Quixote which is good
        There are a few chapters in the latter half of Augustine's Confessions that deal with those same feelings
        Jonathan Edwards' Original Sin
        The Journal of George Fox
        Ralph Waldo Emerson's The Oversoul, Nature, and Self-Reliance
        And that's all I can remember off the top of my head.

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Many good works, but none of these are anything like Eva imo

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Get in the whaleboat, Ishmael

  2. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Explain why.

    t. adult guy who was an introverted young guy long ago

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I tried to read it but couldnt get through it, im a 26 year old incel, whats the point of this book?

      The point of the book basically boils down to the idea that your personality isn't just made up of a "human" and a "wolf" but rather of a 1000 fragments of yourself and there are a 1000 possibilities and directions your life can take. Dont accept one of these 1000 fragments as your "true personality" but give all of them room to grow and develop and let them all come to the surface in the right time. Never be afraid to reinvent yourself and dont let one single aspect of your personality take control of your life.

      Also: dont be a stuck up bitter cynical c**t who looks down on normies and learn how to fricking DANCE.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        You can read any of Henry millers books and get the same kind of inspiration

        https://i.imgur.com/87ZrN2B.jpeg

        Steppenwolf for one, then you've got most of what Faulkner wrote, but especially Quentin's chapter in The Sound and the Fury. Flaubert's The Temptation of Saint Anthony is great as well, and...
        Crime and Punishment
        Leaves of Grass
        Nietzsche as a whole (just don't get wrapped up in the autistic cult of personality the dude has)
        Kierkegaard
        Jakob Böhme
        King Lear, Hamlet, Macbeth
        Moby Dick
        I don't remember which chapter it's in exactly, but there's a dialogue in the first part of Don Quixote which is good
        There are a few chapters in the latter half of Augustine's Confessions that deal with those same feelings
        Jonathan Edwards' Original Sin
        The Journal of George Fox
        Ralph Waldo Emerson's The Oversoul, Nature, and Self-Reliance
        And that's all I can remember off the top of my head.

        >no Henry miller

        Leave of grass was dusty as frick. I didn’t finish it. Made it to 230ish pages out of 400ish. Just too archaic. 1890 and beyond for me

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          >>no Henry miller
          I haven't read anything by him. I'm guessing Tropic of Cancer would be the best place to start?
          >Leave of grass was dusty as frick
          Really? I've heard way more people say the exact opposite. It's too loose and proto-modernist for a lot of people on this board. Sucks that you didn't like it. Whitman's my favorite poet.
          From Section 33 of Song of Myself
          >Space and Time! now I see it is true, what I guess'd at,
          >What I guess'd when I loaf'd on the grass,
          >What I guess'd while I lay alone in my bed,
          >And again as I walk'd the beach under the paling stars of the morning.
          >My ties and ballasts leave me, my elbows rest in sea-gaps,
          >I skirt sierras, my palms cover continents,
          >I am afoot with my vision.
          From Section 28
          >On all sides prurient provokers stiffening my limbs,
          >Straining the udder of my heart for its withheld drip,
          >Behaving licentious toward me, taking no denial,
          >Depriving me of my best as for a purpose
          From Section 24
          >To behold the day-break!
          >The little light fades the immense and diaphanous shadows,
          >The air tastes good to my palate.
          >Hefts of the moving world at innocent gambols silently rising freshly exuding,
          >Scooting obliquely high and low.
          Just absolutely breathtaking, this guy.

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        >do drugs and frick prostitutes lulz
        It's absolute terrible fricking advice, if you can even call it that. You shouldn't "be a bitter c**t", sure, but that doesn't mean you should give up on everything and become a walking plant.

  3. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    I tried to read it but couldnt get through it, im a 26 year old incel, whats the point of this book?

  4. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Its on the list along with siddartha, damien and the glass beed game. I'm 30 btw. Is it too late for me bro?

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      The protag is 50 in the book so not really but still the best age to read it is around 15-16

      First third is amazing, the second third is so weak that I gave up

      First third is mid
      Second third is boring with a few funny moments of the protag sperging out
      Third third is genuinely amazing beyond all expectations

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        So you're sayin there's a chance!

  5. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Booooornnn to be wiiiiiiilld

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      Get your motor, Evan

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        HEDOTONDA HIGHWAY

  6. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    First third is amazing, the second third is so weak that I gave up

  7. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Unfortunately I never did either growing up. Nowadays I find introverts annoying and gay.

  8. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    eva was fricking juvenile crap. i tried. it sucks and isnt anywhere near good anime like GITS

  9. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    Thoughts on Demian?
    Im 20, I read recently and it really shook me up, in a good way

  10. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    NGE is the worst anime series ever made. It's worse than even moeslop or ecchislop. It's anti-art. An insult to everyone who watches it.
    Anyone who likes it should be sentenced to at least 3 years hard labour and I'm not joking.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      I've never watched NGE but you sound like a homosexual.

  11. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >Same thing goes for watching Evangelion.
    I will ignore the fact that EVA is terrible, but seeing the type of introverts that watched that show in their teenage years really makes me question what's the benefict in watching that dross.

  12. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    There are a lot of anons in this thread who aren't madmen and it shows

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      how about you point them out instead of being a vague-posting pussy, then

      • 2 weeks ago
        Anonymous

        Lighten up, did you feel attacked by my "vague-posting"?

        • 2 weeks ago
          Anonymous

          Nah, taking thing personally on an anonymous message board would be way to unhinged for such a levelheaded s(oy)ane boy.

  13. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    It’s proto hippy slop
    Listen to some jazz
    Smoke some hash
    Frick mildly whorish actresses you get to support the arts and bust a nut
    You only live once lol

    No wonder boomers ate it up and proclaimed it wisdom literature

  14. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

    >teenage boys

    Demian is the book for that market. Steppenwolf is way too sophisticated for teenagers. It's more for the much older age group.

    • 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

      In Germany Hesse is seen as an "Abiturienten" author, so an author you read when you are about to finish high school or before college.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *