Opinions?

Opinions?

It's All Fucked Shirt $22.14

Nothing Ever Happens Shirt $21.68

It's All Fucked Shirt $22.14

  1. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    btrfs?

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      yuck

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        Doesn't it protect against corruption? I kinda want it.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          It doesn't even kill your wife.

  2. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    ubuntu numb nuts

  3. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    >snap
    >gnome
    it's shit

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      This. Ubuntu remains the biggest absolute fricking moron filter.

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        except both of those things are fine

  4. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    the new installer is a steamy pile of shit, way less options to choose compared to the good ol' ubiquity, you can't even make encrypted volumes from partitioning menu, the only encrypted options are outdated ext4 and experimental out-of-tree zfs, so canonical probably keeps pushing their techs of choice even more at the expense of fan favorites like my go-to btrfs wrapped in luks
    it's hard pass, I'll just check the new pop!_OS with COSMIC when it lands, until then I'll continue using ubuntu 22.04

  5. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Since you all are Linux experts whats the best distro if I want to build an AMD gaming machine without Windows

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      >gaming machine
      Unironically Windows

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        Then how does Steam Deck do it?

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          NTA but even though many games run great on Linux, many games do not, think of AAA titles like BF or COD. So a machine dedicated to gaming is better off running Windows. That said I'm fairly content with gaming on my fedora box, I simply pass on those games it can't run.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          Depends on the game. Indies tend to run okay for the most part. AAA is very hit or miss when there's DRM or external launchers involved.

          >t. can't play destiny 2 on his steam deck

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          The Apple way - having one static configuration that can be targeted and tested for.

          You don't want the average Loonix autismonster to play your game and then complain because his customized Loonix distro makes the game crash randomly and you have absolutely no way to find out if it's the freetard graphics card driver he uses, some other driver, if he bypasses the Steam Runtime because "it's bloat" and his shared objects are incompatible with what your game expects, some shitty daemon doing unexpected moronation or whatever other thousands of reasons there are for shit not working on Loonix systems.

          Developing for Loonix is miserable. There's a reason pretty much everything uses Docker or Flatpack nowadays. And games have to use more obscure functionality than other software that has historically always been broken one way or another.
          Those who have actually developed production software for Loonix will agree with me.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Steam Deck with SteamOS

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Fedora if you're able enough to install codecs

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Arch Linux, that's the only distro 99% of desktop users should be using gamer or no. Plasma for smooth, or Openbox for input latency.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      ignore Arch btw posters

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      any Arch-based distro for gaming. if you want a hassle-free experience try Endeavour

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Arch linux with GPU passthrough to malware VM known as windows

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      there is no "best gaming distro", they all use the same
      >proton
      >wine

  6. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Linux is finally IQfy compatible!

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      If you're talking about the no thumbnails 'bug', it's still there.
      The issue is not showing existing thumbnails, but generating them. The file picker does not trigger thumbnail generation. Those thumbnails you see are there because you visited that folder with Nautilus before.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      literally just a gnome issue, always worked on my xfce

      If you're talking about the no thumbnails 'bug', it's still there.
      The issue is not showing existing thumbnails, but generating them. The file picker does not trigger thumbnail generation. Those thumbnails you see are there because you visited that folder with Nautilus before.

      >The file picker does not trigger thumbnail generation
      works on my xfce too

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        >literally just a gnome issue, always worked on my xfce
        webms too?
        I used kubuntu which had thumbnails for pics but not webms

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          Sounds like a missing codec or something tbh, using gnome here and I get thumbnails.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          >webms too?
          yes

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        How? I thought the thumbnail meme was an issue with GTK that affected all DEs that used that toolkit.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          gtk3-patched-filechooser-icon-view & glib2-patched-thumbnailer on the AUR
          (and ffmpeg-thumbnailer for the anon above who doesn't have webm thumbnails, though that one came installed out of the box for me)

  7. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Lubuntu guy. No bloat. Works on your 1995 potato.

  8. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    >Opinions?
    trash
    >btw.

  9. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *